Matching a receiver to JM Lab Speakers

Hi,

I'm new to all this and am looking for some advice. I have a pair of JMLab Chorus 707 Bookshelf and a pair of Chorus 715 Floor standing speakers and am looking for advice on a couple of things:

I want to add a center and sub to make up a 5.1

I will also need a receiver to drive it all that can connect to my Plasma (HDMI, I presume?)

I guess I would like to keep the cost to less than $1500 all up - not sure if that's a reasonable expectation though while still doing the speakers justice?

Any advice welcome.

you would probably want to go with a Focal centre for correct tonal matching. A sub, i would go with anything that suits the budget and specs your looking for. Doesnt have to be Focal.

For the amp, i used to run my 707's from a Yamaha 661 and they didnt sound that great, moved them to a integrated amp and they really shine. So i would suggest something with plenty of power. Rotel was a brand that was mentioned when i was looking at upgrading

i dont think you would be able to do it perfectly for that amount of money, unless you looked at second hand (doesnt mean second best) i got a sub, receiver and centre for about $1500, but its far from perfect

Hi,

I'm new to all this and am looking for some advice. I have a pair of JMLab Chorus 707 Bookshelf and a pair of Chorus 715 Floor standing speakers and am looking for advice on a couple of things:

I want to add a center and sub to make up a 5.1

I will also need a receiver to drive it all that can connect to my Plasma (HDMI, I presume?)

I guess I would like to keep the cost to less than $1500 all up - not sure if that's a reasonable expectation though while still doing the speakers justice?

Any advice welcome.

My two cents worth is this:

Buy a centre speaker to match the fronts you already have (In other words same brand / series). If you can buy one second hand then all the better.