Sign in to follow this  
PTV

Newbie Questions Regarding the Hitachi 55PD8800TA!

Hi guys,

Have decided to get a 50" plasma for the new home. Was originally looking at the Pio 50" model until I saw the new 55" from Hitachi.

From the limited info I have read so far because it's quite a new model, the main downside of it seems to be the contrast ratio, at 1000:1. That aside, there doesn't seem to be much wrong with it...

I have just a few questions about some of the features on this plasma and a few other general ones as I am new to all this, which will help not only for this plasma but should I decide to go with another, please bear with me, thanks!

1. "Built-in twin analogue tuners", I presume it's just referring to the analogue signal TV. What is the point of have two of them? Is this so that the next feature is possible?

2. "Multi-Picture (PinP, Split, PonP4, PonP12)" Take it this just means you could have up to 12 channels on display at the one time?

3. "Teletext (Fastext with 100 page memory)" What is the page memory actually for?

4. "VGA-UXGA input for PC" Does this mean I can just connect my PC to this display? What sort of connectors/cable would I need?

5. "Twin Component inputs (DVD/STB)" "Twin HDMI digital inputs" With two connectors of HDMI and component, I presume it just means it's easier if one had more devices using the same connectio?

6. From what I have read on HDMI, it's basically an umcompressed signal transmitter for HD contents?! The average DSTB have component outputs, whilst a few high-end models have HDMI outputs. What good does having twin HDMI connectors do? Are there or will there be HDMI DVD player/recorder available?

If somebody doesn't mind answering the above queries for me, I would much much appreciate it!!!

Thanks guys for reading and I look forward to your feedbacks!

Hey you've got some good questions there, I'm just offering my opinions in that they may be of help.