Sign in to follow this  
gnnett

SMS 200 Help Required

Hi There

As a digital Newbie I am stumbling along trying to get an SMS200 up and running.

Success to date has been limited to plugging iPod into computer (m7 HP Spectre X2) and playing songs using Roon. No idea how good or bad it is at the moment as all too stressful thinking I need to spend $140 a year just to play my ipod through the stereo!

Don't want Roon until I understand what I can get out of this and it will take me months to get there.

Trying now to use USB storage device with music files plugged directly into SMS200. Can see this library and play in Squeezelite, but no sound comes out of the stereo.

Cannot see, or access this library from Roon, so cannot establish if problem is plugging into the back of the SMS200 (seems unlikely) or some simple setup of Squeezelite that is stopping the sound coming out.

Any blindingly obvious advice (other than go back to the record player coz your too old) greatfully accepted.

Regards

Grantn

PS: Hmm and now after 4 days Roon doesn't work, cannot see the ipod anymore and I cannot find a button that searches for storage devices anymore and only thing that it finds is a Samsung device that I don't have! Ouch maybe the record player is the answer.

Edited by gnnett

You are probably better off getting in touch with the retailer or May at sotm who can assist by dialing into your system. There is a lot more info over at Computer Audiophile for this too,

Hi Dan

Yes you are right, but the jargon rich info over there is no place for a Newbie. I couldn't even get this topic in the right place here.

I found iTunes and all its tentacles was what killed Roon and the ipod, so with that deleted Roon is working again.

I will give all the bits and pieces to a Millennial at work to play with for a week or so while I am in Fiji and let them educate me in language I can understand when I get back. Might even get them interested in something better than their ipod! :-)