MrSchnitzer

PrimaLuna; standard vs HP

I’m part way into the process of gradually upgrading most of my 2 channel system.  One of the components I’m looking to upgrade soon is my integrated amplifier, which is currently a Audiolab 8000A.

I’m very tempted by a PrimaLuna Dialogue Premium integrated amplifier.  I haven’t yet auditioned one but will do so soon.  But I notice that the “standard” model is listed as 2 x 36W, which I’m worried might not be powerful enough.

I’m no head-banger (way too old for that), but I would have thought that it’s good to have an amplifier with enough power reserve to properly cope with musical transients.  So is 2 x 36W “enough” or should I look at spending the extra money on the HP version which claims to have 2 x 70W?

I know that “enough” is very subjective, but I’m new to valve amps and it would be tricky to organise a home trial of both versions of the amp.

(My current speakers are currently a pair of Whatmough 202’s, but they’re probably going to be replaced soon too.)

It's true to say that "watts aint watts" and very possible that 36 of them, well applied and driving moderately efficient speakers, will be more than enough. As an example, a good mate of mine uses Yamaha NS-1000 (90db sensitivity, so definitely moderate) being driven by 18 watts of single ended tube fury. And they are remarkable. More remarkable than when they were powered by 45 of the same style of watts actually.

Now the HP may very well be a distinct cut above the standard version, but don't discount the standard purely on the basis of specs. You'll find out if 36 watts cuts your mustard with a home audition soon enough (hopefully Magenta offer this?).

Magenta which is based in the Adelaide Hills are the distributors of Prima Luna, I wonder if they have some models which you could listen to or maybe they can refer you to a shop where you could compare the two.

I run speakers of 90db efficiency with 28W valve amps. For my music it is fine.