mrf0ster

New to Tubes, where to now.

30 posts in this topic

Hello every one, I am very new to Tube phono pre. Curentley I have 4 JJ electronic ECC83s installed. The recommendation from the manufacturer is use any 12Ax7, ECC83 or the equivilant. 

My my question is, what is the equivilant to those above, and can anyone make a recommendation on some nice sounding tubes and where to buy them? 

Cheers Mark

IMG_1224.JPG

IMG_1222.JPG

1 person likes this

It is pretty much trial and error as most valves are system dependent.

NOS ones are mostly good (that's mostly BTW). If you want to experimenter I humbly suggest trying the ones 'made in the other side of the iron curtain' like Ei, RFT, Mazda/Adzam, Tungsram etc..... and some of the Japanese ones like Matusushita are pretty good.

I always bought mine from eBay...yes more risk...less cost.....

...and good luck....;)

3 people like this

Thank you Ian, those links are awesome.

cheers! 

Posted (edited)

That link from Ian for the tubes in Australia

http://tubeaudio.com.au/12ax7-ecc83/

I most probably myself would try the Tungsol gold pin or Genalex Gold Lion ones.

Edited by rocky500

Thanks Pulinap and rocky, checking all these out now. Thank you all for your advice, much appreciated. 

Silly question, but what is NOS?

1 minute ago, mrf0ster said:

Silly question, but what is NOS?

Vintage tubes that haven't been used

New Old Stock 

1 person likes this

I like the old Mullards.   They are being sold new - reissued by New Sensor I read.   I haven't tried these, but if they have faithfully reproduced them, then they might be good.

Old used preamp tubes are often a good buy if tested by the seller.  This is because they are often from equipment where they are not particularly stressed, and they will last a very long time, as long as they test well.