volume controls are backwards from water taps from a child's perspective

My young kids are still struggling to get it into their brains which way to turn a tap on or off (righty tighty, lefty loosy etc)

I just asked one of my kids to turn the volume down on the stereo and they turned it up instead of down, which of course raised the question, "why is it different to taps?"

It's the first time I'd ever considered it!

The joys of parenthood and the funny stuff that comes up.

I guess the person designing the first potentiometer was thinking of nuts/bolts - turning the pot "off" as the same as taking a nut "off" a bolt

Mike

• Like 4

"I guess the person designing the first potentiometer was thinking of nuts/bolts - turning the pot "off" as the same as taking a nut "off" a bolt"

Now if that designer was a plumber by trade it could have been very different ;)

Guess you are actually turning the tap off and the water on, but no one says that.

:blink:

Now that is messing with me..............had to go check a tap to regain some sanity :lol:

cutting a thread...I think am stronger turning a thread cutting tap clockwise than anti clockwise...

turn it up ...

that to me intuitively tells you turn the dial up from the bottom left position. ... i.e. clockwise...

are kids still used to volume knobs ?

up down arrows or plus minus is probably more what used to with the touch screens, toggle buttons and such mostly presented with.... :)

cutting a thread...I think am stronger turning a thread cutting tap clockwise than anti clockwise...

turn it up ...

that to me intuitively tells you turn the dial up from the bottom left position. ... i.e. clockwise...

are kids still used to volume knobs ?

up down arrows or plus minus is probably more what used to with the touch screens, toggle buttons and such mostly presented with.... :)

So it may have been a watchmaker... :thumb:

• 1 year later...

Who said life and design is consistent?