Streaming ABC Classic FM etc- how?

Hi

I am new to streaming music. My set up is a Win 8 PC, with Minimserver.....Android phone with BubbleUPnP....Simaudio Moon 180 Streamer (+ the usual DAC, Amp etc)....plus Chromecast. All connected with ethernet (not the Chromecast & phone!). Telstra cable broad band with their latest Net gear modem/router

I can stream all my CDs fine from the PC. I want to get rid of my old (very) tuner, but how can I stream a radio station like ABC Classic FM (which you can do from their web site) or even Tidal?

Advice much appreciated

BC

Download a free media player like VLC and point the ABC to it as your preferred choice or just click on Classic FM's "Listen Live" option using their 'Beta' radio player. Win8 can do it through Win media player which you will have.

You end up with a selection of 'captured' radio stations either digital or as you know, just the ABC's proprietary stations like Classic FM or Radio National but they are one of you preferred choices in your media playlist which can be as long as you like.

Many thanks for this pointer, but my intention is to be able to stream it live via my Mind Streamer though my HiFi. I can play the ABC on the desktop through their 'listen now' but can't work out how to play through VLC/WMP short of downloading a podcast.

Have I misunderstood you?

Android selects which album etc (on Bubble UPnP (which fetches the media library from the PC from Minimserver), tells the PC which renderer to send it to. Minimserver on the PC then streams it to the renderer (Moon 180) which then sends it to DAC, Amp, Spkers

Internet based radio is fantastic for accessing a large range of radio stations across the globe. Do not expect to get audio quality anywhere near as good as your FM tuner however as the streams are all compressed, often heavily.

Your Moon 180 is already capable of streaming internet radio using the Vtuner functionality, so no new hardware required.

Edited by oldrose
  • Like 1