Benefits of aftermarket power cable

Hi to all sna members!

I'm relatively new to hifi scene, so please don't shoot me if this topic has already been covered😠I've recently purchased a rotel cd, pre and power... I'm wanting to do some upgrades to further improve the sound, I've read that upgrading to aftermarket power cables are one of the most common upgrades. Before I go out and blow my pay check I just wanted know from members what gains they had from changing out the cables?

Buy some and try them for yourself because there are 2 camps here.

1 After market cables are a complete and utter waste of money and are basically snake oil and smoke and mirrors

2 After market cables are a worthwhile investment that improve your system

You decide

• Like 1

I like the placebo effect of a big fat arse chunky power cable coming out of the back of my gear... it just looks good: does it have an affect on the SQ? Not that I can tell, but it looks like it does.

• Like 3

@@Luc so your and my vote is for camp 1 SNAKE OIL

HUI do you have to open the case to rewire or do you have a "kettle cord" plug at rear of amp?

If NO kettle cord let the whole idea drop.

If you have a kettle cord connect shop here on sna for a sub $100 power cord

Then sell it on for about the same price when/if you can't heard a difference

• Like 5

Thanks for input guys... I've paired my rig with klipsch reference speakers which were originally from my ht setup, I'm finding it too bright/harsh for my liking, so far I've experimented with different cables and managed to find a combo to tone it down a notch but still not entirely happy. So I'm contemplating on whether power cables would make a difference or save my money n upgrade speakers what do u's think?

The new and improved power cables won't make up for any tonal deficiencies in your system and it seems in your situation that a speaker upgrade will give an exponentially greater improvment.